The Natural History Museum and the Museum at La Brea Tar Pits are now open. Advanced tickets can be purchased online. The William S. Hart Museum remains closed until further notice. View our COVID-19 Safety Guidelines for more information.

Leadership & Board of Trustees

The Natural History Museums of Los Angeles County (NHMLAC) are governed through a public-private partnership, composed of dedicated individuals serving on our Board of Trustees and the County-appointed Commission of the Board of Governors. Together, the Executive Leadership Team and the Board work to champion the museums' vision, protect the collections, and carry out their strategic goals.

Executive Leadership

The Executive Leadership Team works to advance the museums' strategic priorities—to commit to principles of accessibility and engagement, and to become a hub for discoveries and dialogue around critical issues of global significance and local impact.

The Executive Leadership Team collaborates with the Board of Trustees, various government agencies, private entities and foundations, along with over 480 NHMLAC employees, to inspire wonder, discovery, and responsibility for our natural and cultural worlds.

Paul Bessire
Chief Advancement Officer
Luis M. Chiappe, Ph.D.
Senior VP, Research & Collections and Gretchen Augustyn Director and Curator, Dinosaur Institute
Dawn McDivitt
Chief Deputy Director
Nooshin Nathan
Chief Talent Officer
Su Oh
VP, Education and Programs
Robin Aspinall
Chief Financial Officer

Board of Trustees 2020-2021

The Board of Trustees serves to support all aspects of the Natural History Museums of Los Angeles County (NHMLAC).

Consisting of 15 Governors, elected by the County Board of Supervisors, and 28 museum-elected Trustees, the Board works as a cohesive team with the Executive Leadership Team to ensure the missions and values of NHMLAC are upheld, and that the museums fulfill their roles as, of, for, and with L.A.

* Denotes members of the Board of Governors

Anissa Balson

Dr. Lori Bettison-Varga, President and Director of the Museum

James E. Blancarte*

Louisa R. Cardenas*

Esther chui Chao

Kermit Crawford

Heather de Roos, Vice President of the Board

Susan Dever*

Charlene Dimas-Peinado*

Nancy Edwards

Shannon Faulk*, President of the Board of Trustees

William M. Garland, III

Mark Gavens

Stanley Gold

Karen A. Hoffman

Andrew Jameson

Sarah Meeker Jensen, Chair of the Board

Malcolm Johnson

Curtis C. Jung*, President of the Board of Governors

Rick Keller

Alexander KeNDALL

Vince Lawler*

Margaret Levy*

Joseph Lumarda*

Walter N. Marks*

Gregg Martin

Megan McGowan epstein

Diane G. Medina*

Eric B. Moore*

Noramae R. Munster*

Diane Naegele

Joan Payden

Jonathan M. Peacock

Naomi Rainey-Pierson

Peter Scranton

Monica Wahl Shaffer, President of the alliance

Michael Silver

Jeff Stibel

Sheldon Stone

Richard S. Volpert

Eric E. Younger

Trustees Emeritus

From time to time the Board chooses to appoint former Trustees to the position of Trustee Emeritus to recognize past service and to encourage continuing relationships with the museums.

Each Trustee Emeritus is invited to attend meetings of the Board, but they do not vote.

Lynn W. Brengel

Neal H. Brockmeyer

H. Frederick Christie

Paul G. Haaga, Jr.

Patricia Lombard

Dr. Jane G. Pisano

Mrs. Betty Reddin

Richard Roeder

Kevin Sharer